First Day of Preschool: Attachment Parenting Win!

Attachment parenting has been so wonderful. Although time and energy intensive at first, the benefits of attachment are superb as time goes on. My favorite one to date: Taking my daughter to her first day of preschool/camp. She  is 28months old. She had never met the teacher. She had never met the other students. All she knew is that she has been walking by the playground and asking about it for a year.

I had no idea how it would go but since she has only had one moment of mild separation crying in her whole 28 months, I thought it would be okay. Then again I had never left her in the care of another person anywhere but our own house!   She was super excited to go. She put on her little backpack. She started playing with trucks immediately when we got there and quickly found the markers. As soon as she was cutting and drawing I decided I should try and leave. She said “Okay mommy, you can go.” at let me give her a kiss. When I arrived 4 hours later she was lingering on her organic lunch.  This is what she looked like when I picked her up..smiling:

Her teacher (this is a French immersion school) said, “She is just part of the program. She told us when she had to go peepee. I have never seen someone her age speak so much French. And I have never seen someone her age eat so much food.”

And so, I am a changed woman. I have the freedom not to worry about my child who feels so safe and secure. She completely did not understand when the other children were crying on that first day. She felt so safe and secure in our plans and choices together and of my always coming back. And when we got home, we had an unusual mid-day boobysnack in the hammock. And she was equally excited for her second day (which was today) and I realized the house was empty and quiet for the first time in 2.5 years and I could pick up my guitar to write. I breathed deeply. Alleluia!

About mooreamalatt

Find my whole bio here: http://www.savvyparentingsupport.com/#!about/cktc
This entry was posted in School/Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Day of Preschool: Attachment Parenting Win!

  1. Oh, that’s wonderful! I’m so glad it’s going smoothly for both of you. ❤

  2. Yay!! Iris is such a great kid. Glad to hear it went well.

  3. Leah says:

    Love this! (And I ADORE her gorgeous curls!) Tell Iris I went to French immersion school too! And that Cora also had a mid-day hammock boobie-snack today! Good work, Mama!

  4. Melissa says:

    Oh, what a beautiful thing – the happy girl and the quiet time for you to do some things you love. So happy for you!

  5. mooreamalatt says:

    Update. After learning that some of the children were crying because they wanted their parents, Iris decided to start it too at the beginning of Fall. We all helped her work it out and let her have her feelings and knew she was happy anyway because she did not want to leave school. And she also goes to Genius Preschool at the school I direct. So the first day I was there and she cried the entire time because she could not have me to herself. Again, I helped her talk about it and work on it and the second time was wonderful without me and the third time where I stayed and helped was also wonderful. Now she is loving both schools!

Leave a Reply

